top of page

A Robin called Cedric 

Having got back from London Friday night after an hour long train delay I soldiered on into Saturday and the sessions I ran and helped out at in the play zone.  'Who let the dads out' went well especially with bacon sandwiches on offer and the weather outside looking terrible. Then we had a 'firework party' which included children's artistic impressions of Catherine wheels made out of glitter glue and pompoms. The highlight of my morning was the new guess the name competition running here until Christmas,  my suggestion for the cuddly toy's name was Cedric which everyone seems to like; so Cedric the Robin he has become. It was bonfire night but because of the terrible weather firework displays weren't looking so inviting although I was invited to one. I stuck my head out of the window at about 7 to check whether it was worth going out and it was so out I went.

^Cedric

So, i was invited to London for four days to help out St Mary's Primary School with year 6's annual trip. There were a mixture of well behaved and not so behaved attendees: the female teachers and teaching assistants making up the misbehaved contingent. Walking into the bathroom that the male teacher and I were sharing to find my shaving foam covering the toilet seat and what I suspected to be toothpaste underneath it (judging by my now half empty tube) was the worst of it. I'm pleased to say there was no retaliation on our part, not that it never crossed our minds. With everyone talking about how cold it is at the moment and me walking around sometimes in just a t-shirt my point about how mild it actually is is highlighted by the reaction the kids gave to frost in London one morning. They'd barely ever seen any before, I'm definitely enjoying the temperature in Penzance but that doesn't mean it's always dry.

^a mild November in Penzance

On Wednesday last week in London we went to the Lion King at the Lyceum Theatre. Now, I've seen Stomp (as I kept telling everyone who asked me if I'd been to a West end show) but that was in Southampton. I thoriughly enjoyed it and although we weren't allowed to take photos whilst the show was on it took one of the stage curtain for my blog.

Purely by accident we had burgers three days in a row in London, above is the best one from Byrons on the Strand. I wasn't complaining,  it went well with the full English supplied every morning at the youth hostel.

^ My birthday cake from St John's in Penzance,  I appreciated the effort with the candles.

I went back home for my birthday 2 weeks before going to London reminding me of what I missed and what I didn't.  More things missed than not though, I had a great time with family and friends going out for a birthday meal twice  (both times with Maddie). Unfortunately I injured myself at Tim's workplace- the trampoline park- on my first day back home and then left my toiletries and pillow behind before I came back to Penzance. Now I'm looking forward to the Christmas holiday and getting my pillow back, but I don't expect any of my shower gel will be left. I'm planning a Christmas meal for the staff at the Churches for the end of November now, not as bad as having it on the 25th June I suppose.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page