top of page

Learning to breathe

It's been a while since I last posted, sorry about that, that is if you've been reading any of the previous posts. Tim and Rhys came to stay for a couple of days this weekend and they followed me around to my various commitments like who let the dads out, the service on Sunday and a few other things. We got to Lands End Sunday afternoon which was great but I'm fairly sure Tim's nicked one of my charging cables...and I'm fairly sure I'm a laptop down on the amount I had on Friday...that's another story. He did bring my birth certificate so I could get my DBS check done and do more work with one of the schools I've been going in to, so thanks.

^the view through the bridge over the railway line in Truro

Since I last posted I met the other interns in the diocese, they arrived a couple of weeks after I did in a village called Stithians, about 40 minutes away. It was great because immediately after I met them we went to a place called Sclerder Monastery near Looe for a retreat. In complete silence. Unfortunately I couldn't complain, out loud at least. Meals in silence were particularly fun as increasingly frantic hand gestures could mean anything from 'Fire! Get out!' to 'can you pass the grated cheese please'. We did our dishes together and spent time doing morning, noon and evening prayers in our own group for some and with the rest of the monastery's community for others.

After these 3 days away we went to our first theology class together in Truro, this term is an introduction to theology which I'm studying and writing essays for credit. I'm enjoying them and I'm glad it will count towards something as the course is university accredited. My Wednesday now consists of a meal with the other interns followed by evening class, I have a new testament Greek text book I'm working through at the moment as well. On Friday after our retreat we had a special commissioning service led by Bishop Tim where we were officially told to go and do what we were going to do, I kept the program, it was a good service. The buffet afterwards was good too.

^Bishop Tim and I

I'm being well fed as plenty of people are eager to invite me over for meals, and in some cases follow that up with a guided sightseeing tour. I'm thankful for all the friendship and care I've received so far. So, for anyone interested, I've been to Sennen, Lands End, Hayle, Truro, Stithians, Pendeen, St Ives, The Minnack Theatre, Mousehole, Paul, Long Rock and hopefully many more places in my time here.

I preached a couple of weeks ago at a Harvest Praise service and as far as I could tell it went OK (Anglican sermons are fairly short anyway). We're starting a new style of service at St John's where I'm based and we'd be grateful for prayer for it, message me if you'd like anymore info specifically to pray for. It's a service with breakfast to start, access to the Play zone for kids and activities for them during the main service as well. With good contacts already with young families there's room to grow a much needed link with more generations within the church congregation.

^the mines near Pendeen

I'm learning to breathe a bit more (Switchfoot lyric) finding time and space to relax either through music, through sleeping, eating or watching TV. Reading's relaxing but Migliore's only relaxing because it literally sends me to sleep. I'm also looking forward to a fortnight's time when I get to see everyone I love back home again and celebrate my birthday there.

P.S: Days would be nice Mum and Dad, good restaurant for a birthday treat apparently.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page